Nigerian govt to begin COVID-19 drug trial in 13 states

The Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19 has said investigational drug trials would soon begin in 22 sites across 13 states in the country.

This was confirmed by PTF’s National Coordinator, Sani Aliyu, during a media briefing yesterday.

Aliyu did not reveal the states, but noted that all necessary regulatory approvals had already been secured for the trials.

“As you are aware Nigeria, has registered for the WHO solidarity trials which are a multi-country trial where the standard of care in the country is compared against some investigational drugs such as Remdesivir, Interferon-Beta and monoclonal antibody.

“This is in a bid to get the best drugs to cure COVID 19.

“So far 22 sites from 13 states have been registered for the trial and the necessary regulatory approvals from NAFDAC, and the National Health Research Ethics Committee has been secured. The trial will soon commence,” he said.